SANTA MARIA, Calif.—CSU Bakersfield dropped a pair of wrestling duals at Righetti High School in Santa Maria Saturday.

The Roadrunners kicked off the tri-dual against No. 21/23 North Dakota State. The Bison (12-3) defeated CSUB 32-8. Lorenzo De La Riva (165) and Russell Rohlfing (141) were victorious for the ‘Runners. De La Riva’s victory was against No. 17 Andrew Fogerty. NDSU would later defeat Cal Poly 30-6.

Cal Poly (5-8, 1-2 Pac-12) came from behind to defeat CSUB 21-18 in the second dual of the day. De La Riva’s major decision over Luke Wilson created a 4-0 CSUB opening lead. Travis Berridge defeated Matt Penyacsek 3-2 at 174 before Sohrab Movahedi defeated Bryan Battisto 5-3 in overtime for the first Mustang lead.

Thomas Lane and Spencer Empey won at 197 and heavyweight respectively for Cal Poly. With the Mustangs leading 14-4, Sean Nickell closed the gap when he pinned Isaac Blackburn at 125 pounds. Carlos Herrera brought the ‘Runners to within one with a decision at 133. Rohlfing put CSUB up 18-14 with his second tech fall of the day.

Joshy Cortez tied the dual at 18 when he posted a major decision over Everett Pratt at 149. Colt Shorts, the only nationally ranked wrestler in the lineup for Cal Poly, defeated Sean O’Rourke 6-0 to clinch the victory for the Mustangs. The Roadrunners were without the services of Coleman Hammond (149) and Matt Williams (197) who sat out due to injury.

CSU Bakersfield sent several wrestlers to the California Collegiate Open on Saturday as well. The top performance was by 2016-17 redshirt Sergio Mendez who finished second at 125 pounds.

CSUB (4-5, 1-2 Pac-12) hosts its final home Friday when Northern Colorado (1-5) comes to the Icardo Center. Belltime is 7 p.m.

No. 21/23 North Dakota State 32, CSU Bakersfield 8

165 -- Lorenzo De La Riva (CSUB) def. Andrew Fogarty, 17-10

174 – Dylan Urbach (NDSU) tech. fall Matt Penyacsek, at 4:48 (20-5)

184 – Tyler McNutt (NDSU) def. Bryan Battisto, 8-4

197 – Cordell Eaton (NDSU) def. Jacob Sieder, 9-4

285 – Ben Tynan (NDSU) pinned Alex Encarnarcion-Strand, at 6:38

125 – Josh Rodriguez (NDSU) def. Sean Nickell, 10-5

133 – Cam Sykera (NDSU) def. Carlos Herrera by TF, at 7:00 (7:00)

141 – Russell Rohlfing (CSUB) def. Taylor Nein by TF, at 6:29 (20-4)

149 – Mitch Friedman (NDSU) def. Everett Pratt, 12-4

157 – Clay Ream (NDSU) def. Sean O'Rourke, 14-5

    Note: North Dakota State deducted one team point for coach misconduct.


Cal Poly (CP) 21, CSU Bakersfield 18

165 – Lorenzo De La Riva (CSUB) def. Luke Wilson, 14-2

174 – Travis Berridge (CP) def. Matt Penyacsek, 3-2

184 – Mitch Woods (CP) def. Bryan Battisto, 5-3 SV

197 – Thomas Lane (CP) def. Jacob Sieder, 11-0

285 – Spencer Empey (CP) def. Alex Encarnarcion-Strand, 14-6

125 – Sean Nickell (CSUB) pinned Isaac Blackburn, at 1:17

133 – Carlos Herrera (CSUB) def. Yoshito Funakoshi, 8-1

141 – Russell Rohlfing (CSUB) def. Ty Schilling by TF at 5:40 (24-6)

149 – Joshy Cortez (CP) def. Everett Pratt, 18-6

157 – Colt Shorts (CP) def. Sean O'Rourke, 6-0