SAN JOSE, Calif.-- Bakersfield (35-20, 18-8 WAC) scored 12 runs over the final two innings as the Roadrunners defeated San Jose State (16-38, 10-16 WAC) 14-4 Saturday afternoon. With the victory, the ‘Runners clinched its first Western Athletic Conference baseball title in its first season in the league and the No. 1 seed at next week’s WAC Tournament.

Matt Carroll’s sacrifice fly in the bottom of the first scored Michael Gerlach to give the Spartans an early lead. San Jose State’s Kyle Hassna, who was making just his second start of the year, retired the first 10 CSUB batters he faced before Tyler Shyrock (Jr., Tehachapi, Calif., Desert Christian HS) reached on an error with one out in the top of the fourth. Cael Brockmeyer (Jr., Vineyard Haven, Mass., Avon Old Farms HS), tied the game with the ‘Runners first hit of the game, an RBI double that plated Shryock with two outs in the fourth.

Bakersfield took a 2-1 lead in the fifth when Chance Gusbeth (Fr., Lancaster, Calif., Desert Christian HS) scored on a Spartans’ error. San Jose tied the score in the bottom of the seventh on an RBI from Carroll. The Spartans took the lead when Scott Brattvet (Sr., Trabuco Canyon, Calif., Santa Ana College) was charged with a wild pitch that scored Carroll.

Jordie Hein (So., Scottsdale, Ariz., Chapparal HS) opened the top of the eighth with a walk and moved to third on an Oscar Sanay (Jr., ChulaVista, Calif., Bonita Vista HS) single. Shryock’s opposite field single drove in Hein to tie the score for the third time on the day. Dylan Christensen (Sr., Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif., Saddleback College) walked to bring Brockmeyer up with the bases loaded.

Brockmeyer’s sac fly drove in Sanay for his 50th RBI of the year and a 4-3 CSUB lead. Mylz Jones’ (Fr., Palmdale, Calif. Paraclete) squeeze bunt scored Shryock and moved Christensen up to second. The third Spartans’ pitcher of the inning, John Oberholtzer, walked Gusbeth to load the bases for the second time. Kevin Younger (Sr., Bakersfield, Calif., Liberty HS) reached on a fielders choice, but Christensen was retired at home. The fourth CSUB run of the inning came home was recorded on a Oberholzer balk. Allen Gwynn (R-Jr., Santa Paula, Calif., Ventura College) grounded out to end the frame.

The Roadrunners broke it open in the ninth by sending 13 to the plate and scoring eight times (tying the school record for most runs in a inning, occurring six previous times). The Spartans would score three in the bottom of the ninth for the final 14-6.

Shyrock was 2-for-5 with three runs scored and two RBI’s. Brockmeyer and Gusbeth were both 2-for-4 with two RBI’s. Jones and Younger both registered two RBI’s. Brattvet improved to 9-1 on the year, striking out five in eight innings.

CSUB earn the outright WAC title with a victory over the Spartans in the series finale Sunday. The Roadrunners are a 1/2 game up on UT Arlington for first in the league heading into the final day, but regardless, the ‘Runners will get the No. 1 seed as CSUB holds the tiebreaker (head-to-head) over UTA going into the league tournament. San Jose State needs to win in order to make the league tournament as the Spartans are tied for eighth and final spot with Seattle U in the standings. First pitch is set for 1 p.m.