BAKERSFIELD, Calif.--The CSU Bakersfield wrestling team heads to the 50th Ken Kraft Midlands Championships at Northwestern in Chicago, Ill. this weekend.

The tournament begins Saturday morning at 9:30 a.m. (CST) with session two coming at 7 p.m. (CST) that night.  Session three begins Sunday at 12 p.m. (CST) with the semifinals, consolation, and seventh place matches. After a parade of champions at 6:30 p.m., the finals are set for 7 p.m. (CST) and will be televised live on the Big Ten Network.

Of the 32 Division I teams competing this year, 14 of them placed in the top-25 at the 2012 NCAA Championships and 15 are currently ranked in the Dec. 18 USA Today/NWCA/AWN Division I Coaches Poll. The ranked teams in this year’s field include the following: No. 6 Illinois, No. 9 Central Michigan, No. 10 Oregon State, No. 11 Virginia Tech, No. 12 Michigan, No. 13 Pittsburgh, No. 14 Oklahoma, No. 15 Northwestern, No. 17 Nebraska, No. 18 Edinboro (tie), No. 18 Maryland (tie), No. 21 Purdue, No. 22 Penn, No. 23 Wisconsin and No. 25 Lehigh.

According to the latest Amateur Wrestling News rankings, there are 92 ranked wrestlers competing at the 50th Ken Kraft Midlands Championships. Also included in this year’s field are a number post-graduates, as former All-Americans Montell Marion (Iowa), Daniel Dennis (Iowa), Hudson Taylor (Maryland) and Bekzod Abdurakhmonov (Clarion) are scheduled to compete.

Entering the meet, Bryce Hammond (R-Fr., Bakersfield, Calif., Bakersfield HS) has earned a No. 9 preseed at 174 while Tyler Iwamura (R-Sr., San Diego, Calif., Santa Fe Chrisitan HS) was named as a contender at 125 pounds.

The following are scheduled to compete for the Roadrunners;

125  Miguel Comparan
125  Tyler Iwamura

141 Timmy Box

149 Dalton Kelley

157  Adam Fierro

174  Bryce Hammond.

184  Reuben Franklin